Tech News

Cisco security certification comparison chart

In today’s highly integrated and interconnected business environment, it is important to recognize the importance of security, especially for business networks. It is plausible that, with the incredible convenience that highly digitized business environment an interconnected network provides us, the use of emerging technologies such as IoT, and more complex and expensive networks, they are exposed to more threats and thus have the potential of being more vulnerable. The risk of vulnerability cannot be ignored by businesses, ad they cannot afford to lose any of their data or compromise the integrity and security of their networks.

Cisco Offers a range of Cisco Security certification at various levels in its multi-tiered Cisco Career Certification program, each with varying degrees of specializations and advancements owing to their position in the multi-tiered Cisco certification. A Cisco Security certification is offered at various levels. This article will compare these various security certifications and classify their applications and scope.

CCNA Security

Starting with the first dedicated security certification called CCNA security. This is a foundational course that familiarizes individuals with the basics of Cisco security. This Cisco Security certification is intended for IT professionals who are new to the field and want to enhance their knowledge and skill set a bit.

The suitable experience for Individuals suitable for this Cisco Security Certification is 1 to 3 years and the job roles they can fill are of Network Security Specialist, Security Administrator, Network Security Support Engineers. In order to get this certification IT professionals, need to take the following exam, 210-260 IINS.

There aren’t specific prerequisites that allow individuals the eligibility to get this certification. For this Cisco Security Certification, IT professionals with any CCNA or advanced certification can attempt this certification exam.

CCNP Security

While CCNA Security is an associate-level certification, the CCNP Security is Cisco Security certification that belongs to professional-level in Cisco Security Certifications. This is a bit more advanced than the foundational CCNA Security and accordingly recognizes the advanced skills of individuals that cater to various business needs.

The suitable amount of years of experience for CCNP Security certification is 3 to 5, and the prerequisite for this certification is a CCNA Security or any CCIE Certification. To attain this certification IT professionals, need to pass a total of 4 exams, 300-208 SISAS, 300-206 SENSS, 300-209 SIMOS, 300-210 SITCS.

A prominent job role suited to CCNP Security certification is that of a Network Security Engineer, which is a respectable position with the expansive scope and prominent career prospects. As a network Engineer gains more experience and learns key insights through their time in the real-world application of their skills, they are able to grow beyond the scope of CCNP Security certification. This brings us to the next in line certification a tier ahead of CCNP Security.

CCIE Security

In the Cisco Career Certification Program, this is the next step after a CCNP Security certification. CCIE Security is an expert level certification, aimed at individuals who have in-depth knowledge of their field and are looking to further evolve their skill set.

This Cisco Certification is intended for individuals with extensive experience in the field, as much as 7 years or more. There is no requirement of a CCNP Security or any certification, and individuals are just required to pass 2 exams, 400-251 Written Exam, and Lab Exam v5.0, in order to receive with certification.

With such a specialized Certification, various advanced job positions open up and the scope of existing jobs greatly increases. CCIE Security certified IT professionals can expect to land highly specialized positions as Network Security Engineers with even more scope and understanding of the field

Next up in line are the specialized Cisco Security certifications focusing on very specific areas of the scope of the Cisco network. These certifications are intended for individuals who want to enhance their knowledge about very specific aspects of the security protocols and how they work in conjunction with the different departments of the business. Most specialized Cisco security certifications are suitable for individuals with 1 to 3 years of experience in their related fields, and most also require a Cisco CCNA Security certification as a prerequisite. The implications of each of these certifications can vary, as they are very specialized. Few of the specialized Cisco security certification are mentioned below:

Cisco ASA Specialist

IT professionals can expect Security Engineers, Consultants and Architects after attaining these certifications. To attain this certification, IT professionals just need to pass 2 exams related to this specialization.

Cisco Firewall Security Specialist

Network Security Engineers can find numerous implications of this certification in their job, further enhancing their skill set. This certification can be acquired by passing two exams in the related field.

Cisco IPS Specialist

Again, the insight this certification provides is highly valuable to Network Specialists a helps them expand their capabilities beyond their ordinary skillset. This certification requires IT professionals to pass 1 exam.

Cisco Security Sales Specialist

This certification is especially useful for people working as channel partners. This certification varies with the rest of specialized security certifications in that its prerequisite is the Cisco Sales Expert certification.

Specialist certifications are more geared towards individuals who want to slightly enhance their skillset or differentiate themselves with the crowd.

Cisco has created an extensive platform that offers various qualifications for all IT professionals. With the classification of entry-level to associate, professional and expert level certification, Cisco has provided IT professionals with a ladder that lead to a successful career. With changing business dynamics and introduction of latest technologies, IT managers prefer individuals who can differentiate themselves from the crowd and have training in working with new technology and emerging trends. The options Cisco provides can sometimes seem overwhelming, but with a little bit, a research every individual can analyze where they stand and which Cisco Security Certification they should opt for.


Related Articles

Benefits of CCNA Certification for Networking Professionals


How to Tame a Fox in Minecraft – The Best Guide


FMovies Alternatives 2020: Watch Free Movie Online